Home | Subscribe | Cannon Falls Lifestyles | Contact Us | E-Edition
Cannon Falls Beacon | Cannon Falls, Minnesota 55009

cannon realty

home : news : news May 27, 2016

3/22/2013 10:57:00 AM
Township election wrap-up

by Ken Haggerty

Most Township officials ran unopposed, but a few contested elections were decided in polling on March 12.

In Randolph Township, where some controversy over developments in the industrial park north of the city of Randolph sparked interest this past year, Steve Dungy, a Lake Byllesby resident, defeated incumbent Supervisor Bill Callister, 66 to 23. Lori Wiik was reelected as treasurer, unopposed. At the annual meeting the levy was raised from $90,000 to $100,000.

In Warsaw Township, which has had some heated debates over what type of developments to allow in the primarily agricultural Township, Dennison area farmer Duwain Egland defeated incumbent Supervisor Jason Fehling, a businessman from the Sogn Valley area, 96-50. Clerk Jimmilee Miller called that a very high turnout for a Township election. Dianne McCorkell was reelected as Treasurer with 125 votes, unopposed. Levy was left at $180,000.

Incumbent Vince Cockriel did not file in Stanton Township, which has also seen some meetings over the last year with brisk discussion on zoning. No one else officially filed. Dave Pederson received 23 write-in votes, topping Cockriel's 16 write-in votes. Pederson is the resident Ranger at the Boy Scout Camp on Lake Byllesby. Jennifer Ritzman was relected as Treasurer with 42 votes, unopposed. The levy was raised by $20,000 to $235,000.

In Leon Township, no one filed for Treasurer. Larry Olson and Becky Swenson both got eight write-in votes. Swenson won a coin toss. Marc Hernke was reelected supervisor, unopposed. Levy was raised $5,000 to $199,350.

Welch Township levy was unchanged at $210,000. Joan Slingsby, Treasurer, and Darwin Fox, Supervisor, were unopposed and reelected.

In Douglas Township, Robby Peine is new to the Board. He was elected as a Supervisor, unopposed. Molly Kieffer was elected Treasurer, unopposed.

In Hampton Township, Bernie Pistner is a newly elected Supervisor, taking over from retiring Donna Otto. Pistner got 16 votes. Jim Sipe got 12 votes. Leo Nicolai returns as Treasurer. Levy is the same as last year at $250,000.

In Cannon Falls Township, incumbents at Supervisor (Deb Hendrickson) and Treasurer Mary Ann Maneval were unopposed and reelected. Levy was unchanged at $210,000. Dust control cost share at 50/50 was approved again.

In Castle Rock Township, incumbent Supervisor David Nicolai held off challenger Jeff Partington, 115 to 60. Incumbent supervisor Russell Zellmer was reelected with no challenger. Township residents voted 98 to 73 to have an appointed rather than elected clerk.

In Sciota Township, incumbent Supervisor Renee Otte and incumbent Treasurer Tracie Roberge were reelected, unopposed.

In Belle Creek Township, new supervisor Tom Gale and incumbent Bill Gorman were elected. They were the only ones to file.

Vasa Township, Supervisor Rick Samuelson and Treasurer Alan Lindell, both incumbents, were reelected unopposed. Levy was raised $10,000 to $200,000.

Advanced Search

Classified Ads

Home | Subscribe | Cannon Falls Lifestyles | Contact Us

Cannon Falls Beacon • Box 366 • Cannon Falls, Minnesota 55009
(507) 263-3991 or (800) 263-3991

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved